Pep Guardiola WINS the LMA’s Manager of the Year award

Pep Guardiola clinches a double at the LMA Awards as Man City seek the treble: the title-winning manager is named Manager of the Year for a third time and scoops his fourth Premier League award

  • Man City manager Pep Guardiola has won the League Managers Association award
  • The Spaniard was also named Premier League manager of the season
  • Guardiola has now won the Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy three times in seven years

Pep Guardiola has won the LMA’s Manager of the Year award for the third time in his career, while also winning the Premier League’s Manager of the Season title for the fourth time after helping Manchester City to their third consecutive English Premier League title top division had led.

Guardiola has been awarded the coveted individual award for best manager in English football for the first time since 2021 after previously beating Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp.

The Sir Alex Ferguson Trophy was presented to Guardiola at the awards ceremony, which recognized achievements at both men’s and women’s level, but he remains two points behind five-time winner and former Manchester United manager Ferguson.

Guardiola’s Premier League Manager of the Season award is the fourth time he has received the award since arriving at Man City seven years ago.

The Spaniard secured the accolade as Premier League manager when his City side faced Arsenal towards the end of the season before overtaking them and securing the title.

Pep Guardiola has won the league manager's Unification Manager of the Year award

Pep Guardiola has won the league manager’s Unification Manager of the Year award

Guardiola (left) lifted the trophy for a third time after guiding Man City to the Premier League title

Guardiola (left) lifted the trophy for a third time after guiding Man City to the Premier League title

After securing the LMA title, Guardiola said: “I am delighted to receive the Premier League Manager of the Year award.” It is an incredible honor to receive his trophy.

“We are in the best league in the world and I promise you that we will be there next season too.”

The 52-year-old has managed City’s most successful spell in club history, winning five English top-flight trophies during his tenure.

However, he has eluded a Champions League title during his impressive tenure but could be rectified when Man City take on Inter Milan in this season’s final in Istanbul on Saturday 10 June.

Arsenal manager Mikel Arteta would have hoped his efforts in helping the Gunners fight for the English league title would have been enough to earn him the accolade.

Eddie Howe’s efforts to guide Newcastle to the Champions League made him another possible candidate after a great season managing the Magpies.

Guardiola could end the season by becoming the first manager in the noughties to win the storied Premier League, FA Cup and Champions League treble.

His star-studded side meet city rivals Man United in the first Manchester derby of England’s oldest cup competition at Wembley on Saturday.

Championship Manager of the Year – Vincent Kompany (Burnley)

From one Man City icon to the next, Vincent Kompany succeeded his former boss and won the Championship Manager of the Year award.

Kompany guided Burnley to the second division title in his first year as manager when the Clarets were automatically promoted back to the Premier League after finishing the season with 101 points.

The Belgian prevailed in a call-up selection that included Middlesbrough boss Michael Carrick, Sheffield United’s Paul Heckingbottom, Luton’s play-off-winning coach Rob Edwards and Coventry’s Mark Robins.

Speaking at Tuesday’s celebration, Kompany said, “The players pulled it off and the staff was tireless.”

“I can still identify with the players, I feel connected to what they’re going through.” I make mistakes and don’t see myself as the finished article. You make mistakes and you learn. “I’m pretty happy where I am today.”

League One Manager of the Year – Steven Schumacher (Plymouth Argyle)

Plymouth’s outstanding season in League One, in which they stormed to the title on 101 points, earned Steven Schumacher the LMA Manager of the Year trophy.

Schumacher’s promotion to the Championship with Argyle marked the end of the club’s 13-year emigration from the second tier of English football.

The 39-year-old will make the championship for the first time in his career next season.

League Two Manager of the Year – Richie Wellens (Leyton Orient)

Promotion from the second division for the second time in his short managerial career was enough for Richie Wellens to secure the honor.

Wellens had previously guided Swindon Town to League One before leaving the Robins for Salford City.

The former Man United product finally ended up at Orient after an unsuccessful spell at Doncaster Rovers.

In charge of the O’s, Wellens will make another attempt in the first division next season after securing the second division title.


Maureen Mackey

Maureen Mackey is a WSTPost U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Maureen Mackey joined WSTPost in 2023 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing:

Related Articles

Back to top button